
PROBATE COURT OF CLARK COUNTY, OHIO

Richard P. Carey, Judge


DECLARATION OF PATERNITY

Adult child born in the state of Ohio, over the age of 23 years,


birth certificate does not designate a father


To be filed in the county where the father lives, if the father is a resident of the State of Ohio.  

If the father is not a resident of the State of Ohio, may be filed in the Probate Court of any Ohio county.


1. Filing Fee - $89.00 [Cash, Check or Money Order Only – no credit/debit cards accepted]


2. Papers must be typewritten.  Complete all pages as completely as possible.  Leave the Case 
No. blank – this will be assigned upon filing.


3. Initial Filings:	 Joint Declaration 

Supporting Affidavit

Supplemental Findings as to Birth Father

Order Affirming Joint Declaration


4. Child’s birth certificate and genetic testing results must be attached to the Joint Declaration.  
The child’s birth certificate must show that no one has been designated as father.


5. A hearing date will be assigned upon the filing of the paperwork.  The child and both parents 
must appear at hearing, unless the Biological Mother is deceased or has been declared 
incompetent, in which case the Child and Birth Father shall appear.


6. After hearing, a certified copy of the Order Affirming Joint Declaration will be sent by the 
Court to the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Columbus for processing, which could take 8-12 
weeks.  You should contact the Bureau of Vital Statistics to verify processing and to obtain a 
copy of the new birth certificate.  For your convenience:


Bureau of Vital Statistics	 	 Clark County Health Dept.

Ohio Department of Health	 	 Vital Statistics

246 North High Street	 	 	 529 East Home Road

P. O. Box 15098	 	 	 Springfield, Ohio  45503

Columbus, Ohio 43215-0098	 	 937-390-5609

614-466-3543


7. Forms are available at our website at www.probate.clarkcountyohio.gov



 Legal Practice in the Probate Court is restricted by law to attorneys who are licensed by the 
Supreme Court of Ohio.  If an individual wishes to handle his or her own case, that person 
may attempt to do so, however due to the complexity of the law and desire to avoid costly 
errors, most individuals who have matters before the Court are represented by an attorney.


Court employees including the Judge are prohibited by statute from giving legal advice which 
includes selection and preparation of documents.

http://www.probate.clarkcountyohio.gov

