# **PROBATE COURT OF CLARK COUNTY**

### **INCOMPETENT GUARDIANSHIPS**

## (PERSON & ESTATE)

#### THESE FORMS NEED TO BE TYPEWRITTEN

#### 1. FILING FEE \$200.00

- 2. FORMS can be obtained from our website at www.probate.clarkcountyohio.gov
- 3. INITIAL FILINGS: gservint

gservinfo -Service Information - this form cannot be completed online; print form and complete questions in ink. Form #17.0 - Application for Appointment Form #15.0 -Next of Kin of Proposed Ward Form #17.1 -Statement of Expert Evaluation Form #15.1 -Waiver of Notice & Consent **Request - Request for Service** perm-addr - Statement of Permanent Address **RequestForBGCheck** - Request for background check: (you must have this form with you when being fingerprinted) Form #1.E -Entry Setting Hearing Form #15.2 Fiduciary's Acceptance Form #15.9 P.O. - Oath of Guardian Form #15.3 - Guardian's Bond Form #17.5 Judgment Entry Form #15.4 Letters of Guardian

NOTE: If the Court is to issue notice to the next of kin, resident of the State, file an additional Request for service

4. The Court will prepare the following forms:

Notice to alleged Incompetent Notice to next of kin – Resident of the State of Ohio

5. The Guardian's Inventory, Form #15.5, is due within 3 months from the date of appointment.

6. The first account is due <u>one year</u> from the date of appointment, and <u>two years</u> thereafter. A Guardian's Report, Statement of Expert Evaluation and Guardian's Annual Plan are due one year from the date of appointment and every year thereafter on a like date, along with a \$5.00 filing fee.

7. Background (fingerprint) checks are required for each applicant. (see Request for Background Check listed above) If the applicant has been a resident of Ohio for 5 years or more, a BCI check only is required; if less than 5 years, both FBI and BCI background checks are required.

8. Within 3 months of obtaining Guardianship, the law requires that each guardian take an initial 6 hr. guardianship training course. Upon completion, a Certificate of Participation will be awarded and this Certificate must be filed with the Court. Every year thereafter, a 3 hr. training course is required. You can view and complete the training course(s) online at: <a href="https://www.judicialecademy.ohio.gov">www.judicialecademy.ohio.gov</a> or contact the Probate Court for the next scheduled in-person

training session.

9. In addition to the training requirements, each guardian appointed by the Court is required to obtain a Guardianship Booklet and file a Guardian's Handbook Receipt, Form # 27.12, with the Court, acknowledging the receipt of the same. You can print this booklet off our web site or obtain a copy from Probate Court. In either event, a signed Receipt, Form #27.12 must be filed with the Court.

LEGAL Practice in the Probate Court is restricted by law to attorneys who are licensed by the Supreme Court of Ohio. If an individual wishes to handle his or her own case, that person may attempt to do so, however due to the complexity of the law and desire to avoid costly errors, most individuals who have matters before the Court are represented by an attorney.

Court employees including the Judge are prohibited by statue from giving legal advice which includes selection and preparation of documents.